LACC Administration

Directors

President Luis Guillermo Solís Rivera | Interim Director
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: lsolis@fiu.edu
Website: http://administracionsolisrivera.cr/presidente/
Telephone: 305.348.2894 Appointments: Please contact Rossie Montenegro (rmontene@fiu.edu)

Liesl Picard, MA | Associate Director
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: liesl.picard@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Jose Miguel Cruz, PhD | Director of Research
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 352
Email: jomcruz@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Joseph Holbrook, PhD | Director of Academic Programs
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 350B
Email: jholbroo@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Maria-Luisa Veisaga, PhD | Director of Andean Studies
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus
Email: veisaga@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305-348-4232

Research Faculty, Post-Doctoral Research Fellows and Visiting Scholars

Simone Athayde, PhD | Associate Professor, Brazilian Studies Program of Excellence
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: sathayde@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Faidherbe (Fedo) Boyer | Visiting Professor
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: fboyer@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

José Félix Colón Burgos, DrPH | Fellow
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: jcolonbu@fiu.edu@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Clinton Jenkins, PhD | Associate Professor, Brazilian Studies Program of Excellence
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA
Email: cljenkin@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Frenand Léger, PhD | Visiting Professor
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: fleger@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Armando Matiz Reyes, DMD | Research Community Engagement Specialist
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: amatizre@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Mark Padilla, PhD, MPH | Professor & Principal Investigator, Syndemics Project & Research Network for Health and Society
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 320
Email: mark.padilla@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2247

Bianca Premo, PhD | 2021-2022 LACC Faculty Development Fellow
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 300-B-1
Email: premob@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1862

Renata Utsunomiya, PhD | Visiting Researcher
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: renata.utsunomiya@usp.br
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Yulia Vorobyeva, PhD | Fellow
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: yulia.vorobyeva@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Staff

Tawona Adedokun, MS | Undergraduate Programs Academic Advisor
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 513
Email: tadedoku@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2226

Marielena Armstrong | Budget Assistant
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: marielena.armstrong@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Sherrie Beeson, M.Ed. | LACC/FIU School of Education Latin American and Caribbean Internship Program Coordinator
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, PC 244C
Email: sbeeson@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.4146

Beatriz Cariello, MA | South Florida K-12 Portuguese Consortium Curriculum Specialist
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: bcari001@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Viroselie Caviedes, MS | Coordinator of Academic Programs
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: vcaviede@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Cynthia Cordova | Research Intern
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: ccordova@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Lindsay Dudley, MA | Public Affairs Manager
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: ldudley@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Rossie Montenegro, MA | Executive Assistant
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: rmontene@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3189

Priscilla Oliveira | Research Intern
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: pnaharar@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Fernanda Pineda, PhD | External Evaluator
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: mapineda@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Cindy Reyes, MA | Undergraduate Online Programs Academic Advisor
Office: Biscayne Bay Campus, ACI 180
Email: cireyes@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2226 / 305.919.4147

Joseph Rodrigues | Research Intern
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: jdrodrig@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Kariela Rivera-Bustelo | Research Assistant
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: kriverab@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Joshua Rivera Custodio | Research Assistant
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: joshrive@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Mabel Rodriguez, MS | Grant Administrator
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: mabel.rodriguez4@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Josue Sanchez, MA | Research Fellow
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: josusanc@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Madelyn Tirado | Senior Fiscal Assistant
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: madelyn.tirado@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Student Assistants

Kevin Calcagno Celeiro | Student Assistant
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: kcalcagn@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Dominique Gil | Student Assistant
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: dogil@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Christopher Gonzalez | Student Assistant
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: gonzalch@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Gavin Yaniz-Moreno | Student Assistant
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: gyanizmo@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894