LACC Associated Faculty Members Recognized for Acheivement by President Rosenberg

FIU President Mark B. Rosenberg recognized several LACC associated faculty members for their outstanding achievements in their respective fields during a reception on Tuesday, April 6, at the Ronald W. Reagan Presidential Home on the Modesto A. Maidique Campus.

“These outstanding faculty members exemplify the quality and character of the professors at FIU,” said Interim Provost and Executive Vice President Douglas Wartzok. “Through their individual efforts and achievements, they are contributing to the university’s vision of becoming a leader among the nation’s best public research universities.”

LACC Associated Faculty Awardees:

Awards and Honors

Dionne Stephens, assistant professor in the Department of Psychology, earned the 2009 Carolyn Payton Early Career Award from the American Psychological Association for her research and book chapter titled "Examining African American Female Adolescent Sexuality within Mainstream Hip Hop Culture using a Womanist-Ecological Model of Human Development.”


Mario de la Rosa, professor in the School of Social Work, is a NCMHD, NIDA, and NINR funded researcher on Latino health disparities and Director of CRUSADA, a multidisciplinary NIH Center of Excellence.

Prize winning publications and creative work

Deron Burkepile, assistant professor in the Department of Biological Sciences, received an Editor’s Choice Award by Scienc magazine for “Herbivore species richness and feeding complementarity affect community structure and function: the case for Caribbean coral reefs”.

Meredith Newman, director of the Department of Public Administration wrote “Emotional Labor: Putting the Service in Public Service”, which earned the Research Best Book Award by the Section on Public Administration Research of the American Society for Public Administration.

Notable appointments

Laurel Collins, associate professor in the Department of Earth and Environment/Biological Sciences, was appointed president of the Cushman Foundation for Foraminiferal Research in 2009.

Sherry Johnson, associate professor and director of graduate studies in the Department of History, was appointed president of the Latin American/Caribbean Section of the Southern Historical Association.